Fly me to the Moon…

There are some questions that come up a lot in astronomy outreach with kids, and this is about one of them. The question is “have you ever been to the Moon?” There is a variant: “have you ever been to space?” I don’t think I’ve ever spoken to primary school students without someone asking that question. And high school students seem ask a different version: “do you want to go to the Moon/space?”

Somehow it’s too hard to break it to them that astronomers and astronauts are not the same thing. I don’t think there’s ever been an astronomer who’s been in space… and there was only one scientist who went to the Moon. (Neil Armstrong was an engineer.)

And then I always end up with this in my head:

Oh, and in case you were wondering, I haven’t been to the Moon, but if someone wants to shout me $200,000, I’ll happily fly on Virgin Galactic… after Richard Branson gets back safely.
About iwouldntnormallycall

I'm an astronomer and science communicator, these are my adventures. Views posted are my own.
This entry was posted in Astronomy, Education. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Fly me to the Moon…

  1. nidhay says:

    would u like to go to the moon?

  2. nidhay says:

    i knw astronomers do not go to the space. the ones who go are the astronauts. but if u get an opportunity to go to the space then will u go?

  3. nidhay says:

    ya, its too expensive and so risky. after all, kalpana chawla died in an space accident while entering in the atmosphere because of a small fault. if the flight members would have had the shuttle checked then there would have been a chance of survival. a stich in time saves 9. hope sunita williams become successful the second time!

  4. Pingback: When will the world end? | I Wouldn't Normally Call

  5. Pingback: Reflections on I’m a Scientist Australia | I Wouldn't Normally Call

Comments, Queries, Suggestions?

